Centre for Justice and Values

by | Jun 3, 2021

The Centre for Justice and Values is a research centre based in the Department of Philosophy, School of Social Sciences and Philosophy, Trinity College Dublin. It is directed by Adina Preda and it hosts most of the REAL events.

The main aim of the Centre is to conduct and promote research in the area of value theory broadly defined, and more specifically on normative questions of justice, rights, fairness by bringing together researchers from different disciplines in College as well as outside it. The Centre also seeks to engage with the public and practitioners in the area of social justice with a view to promoting fairness in society.


The Centre is currently hosting two series of events:

CJV Visiting Speaker seminar
CJV Work-in-progress seminar


Coming up next
There are no upcoming events.



The Centre has so far collaborated with other associations for joint events and welcomes future collaborations.


From July to September 2020, the Centre hosted an Irish Philosophy work-in-progress series online in collaboration with the Irish Philosophical Society led by Cara Nine (UCC)

Read more on The Irish Philosophical Society website.

Since September 2020, The Centre collaborates with the PSAI Political Theory Specialist Group and a number other centres and departments in Ireland to host the All-Ireland Online Seminar Series in Political Theory.

In June 2021, the Centre will host the 1st International workshop of the REAL project – ‘Human rights and Equality’

Research Projects

REAL – Rights and Egalitarianism


The Centre’s Director, Adina Preda is the principal investigator on this 5-year project funded by an ERC Consolidator Grant.



For any enquires, feel free to contact the Centre Director, Adina Preda 


Please visit the Centre’s Facebook page for the latest news and updates. 



Core Members

Trinity College Dublin

Adina Preda – Philosophy – Centre Director
Lilian Alweiss – Philosophy
David Prendergast – Law
Kenneth Silver – Business
Peter Stone – Political Science
Ex-officio: HoD Philosophy
Director of Research, School of Social Sciences and Philosophy

Postdoctoral fellows:
Showkat Ali – REAL Project, Philosophy
Pietro Intropi – REAL Project, Philosophy
Jesse Spafford – REAL Project, Philosophy 

PhD Students:
Samantha Fazekas – Philosophy
Victoria Iugai – Grattan Scholar, Philosophy
Jan Liedtke – Political Science




Associate Members

Trinity College Dublin

Yekaterina Chzhen – Sociology
Roja Fazaeli – Centre for European Studies
Joel Hanisek – Near and Middle Eastern Studies
Linda Hogan – Religion
Aileen Kavanagh – Law
Lorraine Leeson – Centre for Deaf Studies
Susan Murphy – Geography
Maximilian Schormair – Business

Other institutions

Maria Baghramian – Philosophy, UCD
John Baker, Emeritus, UCD
Vittorio Bufacchi – Philosophy, UCC
Christopher Cowley – Philosophy, UCD
John Danaher – Law, NUI Galway
Graham Finlay – SPIRe, UCD
Allyn Fives – Political Science and Sociology, NUI Galway
Iseult Honohan – Emerita, UCD
Joseph Lacey – SPIRe, UCD
Keith Breen – Queen’s University, Belfast
Marie Moran – Director, UCD Equality Studies Centre
Andrew Shorten – PPA, University of Limerick
Alexa Zellentin – SPIRe, UCD


Pin It on Pinterest